Learn about the movement to protect digital privacy and civil liberties online.


A Cypherpunk’s Manifesto (1993) – Eric Hughes

The Crypto Anarchist Manifesto (1988) Timothy C. May

The Cryptonomicon (1999) – Neal Stephenson

Cyber-Libertarianism: The Case For Real Internet Freedom (2009) – Adam Thierer & Berin Szoka

The Bitcoin Whitepaper (2008) – Satoshi Nakamoto

Crypto Anarchy and Virtual Communities (1994) – Timothy C. May

Cryptography and Liberty, An International Survey of Encryption Policy (2000)– Electronic Privacy Information Center

Cypherpunks, Freedom and the Future of the Internet (2006) – Julian Assange

Cyberspace, Cryptoanarchy and Pushing Limits (1994) – Timothy C. May

New Directions in Cryptography – Whitfield Diffie and Martin E.Helman

Security Without Identification (1985) – David Chaum

The New Libertarian Manifesto – Samuel Edward Konkin III

For A New Liberty: The Libertarian Manifesto – Murray N. Rothbard

Traveling the Silk Road: A Measurement Analysis – Nicolas Cristin

Big Brother NSA and its “Little Brothers” – Terry L. Cook

This Machine Kills Secrets (2013) – Andy Greenberg

An Unofficial User’s Guide to Tor – Gavin Phillips

The CryptoParty handbook (2003)

Big Brother 2010: The NSA’s Global Surveillance Network – Terry L. Cook


The Cypherpunk Mailing List – Subscribe to the Cypherpunk Mailing List

Cypherpunks Legacy Archives – Archives of the original Cypherpunk Mailing List 1993-2013

The Cryptography Digest – Subscribe to the mailing list at

BItcoin Talk Forum – Bitcoin community forum

Hackernoon – Cypher Tech community forum

Nakamoto Institute – Repository of Satoshi Nakamoto’s code, writings and resources

Github – Open-source development platform

Tor Project – Free privacy browser

Platform for Privacy Preferences Project (P3P) – Enabling Smarter Privacy Tools for the Web

The Darknet Links – Directory of onion sites

Agorist Market – An on-line, counter-economy marketplace

Agorist Nexus – An on-line, counter-economy marketplace

Cryptome – Documents prohibited by governments on freedom of expression, privacy, cryptology

Cryptoparty – global meetups on the subject of encrypted communication

Take Back Our Tech – Open-source tech guidance

Internet Defense League – Defending internet privacy and freedom

Notable Figures

Adam Back

Inventor of Hashcash and of NNTP-based Eternity networks.

Bram Cohen

Creator of BitTorrent. and lecturer at The Ohio State University.

Bruce Schneier

Author on security issues.

Craig S. Wright

Inventor of the original Nakamoto BSV Protocol.

Dave Del Torto

PGPv3 volunteer, founding PGP Inc. employee, Cypherpunks meeting organizer, co-author of RFC3156 (PGP/MIME) standard,

co-founder of IETF OpenPGP Working Group and the CryptoRights Foundation human rights non-profit, HighFire project principal architect.

David Chaum

Pioneer of cyber cryptography, inventor of digital money E-cash.

Derek Atkins

Computer scientist, computer security expert, and one of the people who factored RSA-129.

Eric Blossom

Designer of the Starium cryptographically secured mobile phone, founder of the GNU Radio project.

Eric Hughes

Author of The Cypherpunk’s Manifesto

Eva Galperin

Malware researcher and security advocate, Electronic Frontier Foundation activist.

Hal Finney (deceased)

Cryptographer, main author of PGP 2.0 and the core crypto libraries of later versions of PGP; designer of RPOW.

Hugh Daniel (deceased)

former Sun Microsystems employee, manager of the FreeS/WAN project (an early and important freeware IPsec implementation).

Ian Goldberg

Professor at University of Waterloo, designer of the Off-the-record messaging protocol.

Jacob Appelbaum

Tor developer, is at the Mailing List Archives

Jillian C. York

Director of International Freedom of Expression at the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF).

Johan Helsingius

Creator and operator of Penet remailer.

John Gilmore

Sun Microsystems’ fifth employee, co-founder of the Cypherpunks as well as the Electronic Frontier Foundation,

project leader for FreeS/WAN.

John Young

Anti-secrecy activist and cofounder of Cryptome.

Jon Callas

Technical lead on OpenPGP specification, co-founder and Chief Technical Officer of PGP Corporation, co-founder with Philip Zimmermann of Silent Circle.

Julian Assange

Founder of whistleblower site WikiLeaks. Currently held in jail for exposing the crimes of global imperialism.

Lend your support at

Julian Oliver

Artist, privacy advocate, critical engineer. Co-founder of Critical Engineering.

Len Sassaman (deceased)

Maintainer of the Mixmaster Remailer software, researcher at Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, and a biopunk.

Marc Horowitz

Author of the first PGP key server.

Martin Hellman

Cryptographer and mathematician. One of the pioneers of public key cryptography.

Michael Froomkin

Distinguished Professor of Law University of Miami School of Law.

Mike Godwin

Electronic Frontier Foundation lawyer, electronic rights advocate.

Moxie Marlinspike

Creator of Signal App, an co-author of Signal Protocol Encryption.

Nadia Heninger

Assistant professor at University of Pennsylvania, security researcher.

Nick Szabo

Computer scientist, inventor of smart contracts and Bit Gold, laying the foundations for Bitcoin.

Paul Kocher

President of Cryptography Research, Inc., co-author of the SSL 3.0 protocol.,

Principal Cryptographic Engineer for PGP Corporation, Co Founder of Silent Circle., Co Founder 4th-A Technologies, LLC.

Peter Junger (deceased)

Law professor at Case Western Reserve University.

Dr Pieter Wuille

Author of BIP32 hierarchical deterministic (HD) wallets.

Philip Zimmermann:

Original creator of PGP v1.0 (1991), co-founder of PGP Inc. (1996), co-founder with Jon Callas of Silent Circle.

Ralf Merkle

Cryptographer and mathematician. One of the pioneers of public key cryptography. Inventor of cryptographic hashing.

Robert Hettinga

Founder of the International Conference on Financial Cryptography and originator of the idea of Financial cryptography as an applied subset of cryptography.

Rop Gonggrijp

Founder of XS4ALL, co-creator of the Cryptophone.

Ross Ulbricht

Founder of the Silk Road e-commerce website. Currently held on a double life sentence without chance of parole.
No victim was named at trial.
Lend your support at

Runa Sandvik

Tor developer, political advocate.

Sameer Parekh

Former CEO of C2Net and co-founder of the CryptoRights Foundation human rights non-profit.

Satoshi Nakamoto

Anonymous creator of the Bitcoin cryptocurrency, and inventor of the blockchain technology.

Sean Hastings

Founding CEO of Havenco and co-author of the book God Wants You Dead.

Steven Schear

Creator of the warrant canary, and GNURadio, team member Counterpane, former Director at data security company Cylink and MojoNation,

current Vice President at StashCrypto.

Suelette Dreyfus

Co-author of Rubberhose, a deniable encryption archive.

Tim Hudson

Co-author of SSLeay, the precursor to OpenSSL. Creator of the stealth technology used in Stuxnet, virus author, programmer.

Timothy C. May (deceased)

Author of The Crypto Anarchist Manifesto (1992) and The Cyphernomicon (1994).

Wei Dai

Developer of the Crypto++ cryptographic library, created the b-money cryptocurrency system,

and co-proposed the VMAC message authentication algorithm. 

Werner Koch

Author of GNU Privacy Guard.

Whitfield Diffie

Cryptographer and mathematician. One of the pioneers of public key cryptography.

Anything else, email us at

punks at volitionlabs dot io

Copyright Volition Labs 2023